Skip to contentBiology Resources Guide Image MapUW-Madison LibrariesMadCatUW-MadisonJobs and FundingPeople, Places and EventsCourse InformationBiology Resources GuideDatabases and EjournalsResources by Subject

Biology Resources Guide >> Research by Subject >> Botany >> Prairie Restoration Campus Resources

Prairie Restoration Campus Resources

We need your feedback! Take this survey, please!


Books/Background Reading

For an overview of the topic, consult the following books in campus libraries.

For other books, search MadCat.

Madcat Keyword Search useful terms:
(prairie? OR tallgrass? OR "tall grass?" OR "native grass?" OR grassland?) AND (restor? OR establish? OR recla?)
(prairie? OR tallgrass? OR "tall grass?" OR "native grass?" OR grassland?) AND (conserv? OR ecol?)
(prairie? OR tallgrass? OR "tall grass?" OR "native grass?" OR grassland?) AND (wisconsin OR midwest?)
prairie? AND wildlife?
prairie? AND plant?

Return to top of page


Journal Articles

All UW-Madison licensed databases

Citation Linker
(Finds known journals/articles)

Using Find It
(to find journal articles)

RefWorks All That JAS: Journal Abbreviations

Licensed access for UW-Madison students, staff, and faculty Licensed Access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff (About)
Open to everyone. Open to Everyone

  Title Suggested Search Terms
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff Academic Search FullTEXT
prairie* and restor*
prairie* and (conserv* or ecol*)
prairie* and wildlife
prairie* and plant*
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff Agricola (National Agriculture Library - NAL)
prairie* and restor*
prairie* and (conserv* or ecol*)
prairie* and wildlife
prairie* and plant*
Open to everyone Agricola (Public Version from NAL)

Keywords search:
Box 1: Prairie OR prairies
AND Box 2: revegetation

Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff Biological Abstracts

Biological Abstracts/RRM (Reports, Reviews, Meetings)

prairie* and restor*
prairie* and (conserv* or ecol*)
prairie* and wildlife
prairie* and plant*
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff Biological and Agricultural Index 1983-
prairie* and restor*
prairie* and (conserv* or ecol*)
prairie* and wildlife
prairie* and plant*
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff CAB (Agriculture & Veterinary) 1972-
prairie* and restor*
prairie* and (conserv* or ecol*)
prairie* and wildlife
prairie* and plant*
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff Current Contents
prairie$ and restor$
prairie$ and (conserv$ or ecol$)
prairie$ and wildlife
prairie$ and plant$
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff General Science Index/ Abstracts and Full-Text 1984-
prairie* and restor*
prairie* and (conserv* or ecol*)
prairie* and wildlife
prairie* and plant*
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff ProQuest Research Library
prairie* and restor*
prairie* and (conserv* or ecol*)
prairie* and wildlife
prairie* and plant*
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff Wildlife and Ecology Studies Worldwide 1971-
prairie* and restor*
prairie* and (conserv* or ecol*)
prairie* and wildlife
prairie* and plant*

Return to top of page


Plant Characteristics Databases

Plants Database from USDA National Resources Conservation Service.

Landscape Plants of the Upper Midwest. Searchable by name and by characteristics such as size, light requirements, color, etc. with photos, pronunciation guides, culture and pruning techniques. From UW-Madison Horticulture's William Hoch & UWEX.

Topic Specific WWW Sites

Major Gateway Prairie Restoration Images

Major Gateway

Northern Prairie Wildflife Research Center Operated by the Biological Resources Division of the U.S. Geological Survey, a bureau of the U.S. Department of the Interior. A very extensive site. Searchable.

United States Fish & Wildlife Service. A bureau in the Department of the Interior, with the mission to work with others to conserve, protect, and enhance fish, wildlife, and plants and their habitats for the continuing benefit of the American people. A very extensive site. Searchable.

Corn Belt - Prairies - Great Plains Comprehensive list of links on Grasslands - Prairies & Middle Prairie Zone: Tallgrass Prairie Transition. Divided by topic and region.

Return to Table

Prairie Restoration

Biocore: Prairie Restoration UW-Madison project "restoring an old field near Picnic Point to tallgrass prairie and monitoring its progress. Each new class of students is learning ecological principles and methods by contributing to multi-year research projects at the Biocore site."

UW-Madison Arboretum History of the Arboretum. a bibliography of scientific papers based, at least in part, on research conducted on the out-door laboratories of the University of Wisconsin-Madison Arboretum, images.

Build a Praire Interactive game from Bell Live.

Chiwaukee Prairie Chiwaukee Prairie in Kenosha County, WI is the largest parcel of native wet prairie of its kind in the Midwest, habitat for more than 350 species of wildflowers and grasses. Prairie photo gallery and plant checklist.

Insect Visitors of Illinois Wildflowers Associates insects that suck nectar or collect pollen with various prairie plant species.

Meadowbrook Prairie Restoration History and description of the Meadowbrook Prairie in the Urbana Park District, Illinois. There is virtual tour of Meadowbrook. Descriptions of the prairie both in its present state and year round.

Establishing and Maintaining a Prairie Garden From U of Minnesota Extension.

Native Prairie Management Guide By Ray Hamilton, Maquoketa, IA.

Prairie Establishment and Landscaping. From Illinois DNR by William E. McClain.

Prairie Parcel Restoration This is a "How to" guide designed for those individuals interested in restoring an area of land back to native prairie, written by Lawrence Cwik

Prairie Wildflowers . Planting instructions and seed sources from Purdue Univ.

Proceedings of the ... North American Prairie Conference Fulltext.

SAGE Prairie Restoration Project: Assessing the Progress of Prairie Restorations in Southern Wisconsin

Science II Prairie
Contains information about restoration ecology and the history, species composition, management, and study of the Science II prairie at Iowa State University, as well as links to other restoration ecology related websites.

Tallgrass Prairie in IllinoisContains information about the history of prairies, prairie restoration, and an extensive list of photos of prairie plants. Links to several other prairie sites. Developed by Kenneth R. Robertson, a botanist for the Illinois Natural History Survey.

Return to table

Images

Controlled Prairie Burn Photos: UW Arboretum, March 29, 2000

Konza Prairie Image Library Free to use for educational purposes.

Landscape Plants of the Upper Midwest. Searchable by name and by characteristics such as size, light requirements, color, etc. with photos, pronunciation guides, culture and pruning techniques. From UW-Madison Horticulture's William Hoch & UWEX.

Tallgrass Prairie in Illinois An extensive list of photos of prairie plants.

Virtual Foliage Home Page The Department of Botany at the University of Wisconsin-Madison has developed five sets of digital images made available to the public.

Wisconsin State Herbarium Has Wisconsin Vascular Plant Species, Wisconsin Herbaria Plant Specimens, and Wisconsin Lichens databases and Atlas of the Wisconsin Prairie and Savanna Flora.

Return to table

 

{extra_content}

 

Biology Resources Guide | Databases & Ejournals | Resources by Subject | Jobs and Funding | People, Places and Events | Course Information | UW-Madison Libraries | MadCat | UW-Madison

Last modified June 16, 2005
University of Wisconsin-Madison Libraries in collaboration with Steenbock Library, the UW Biotechnology Center, and the Center for Biology Education. Please send comments regarding this site to Barbara Lazewski.