Skip to contentBiology Resources Guide Image MapUW-Madison LibrariesMadCatUW-MadisonResources by SubjectJobs and FundingPeople, Places and EventsCourse InformationBiology Resources GuideDatabases and Ejournals

Biology Resources Guide >> Databases & Ejournals

We need your feedback! Take this survey, please!

Databases and E-journals

Biology-Related Databases Sequence, Structure, and Organism Databases Newspapers and Popular Magazines e-Books

Citation Linker
(Finds known journals/articles)

Using Find It
(to find journal articles)

RefWorks All That JAS: Journal Abbreviations
Licensed access
			 for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff License Restricted (About Remote Access) Open to anyone Open to everyone Campus libraries or for UW Madison students, faculty, or staff w/ installed client - see Help file Campus libraries or for UW Madison w/ installed client Find It enabled Find It enabled
Selected Biology-Related Databases below or (all Ag, Biological & Environmental Databases)
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
  Title Biology Coverage
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff Find It enabled Academic Search 1984- Multidisciplinary index to journal literature including biological sciences. Many articles are full-text back to 1990.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff Find It enabled Agricola (National Agriculture Library)
Agriculture, animal industries, animal nutrition, botany, chemistry, entomology, plant science, and veterinary medicine.
Open to anyone Agricola Animal science, biology, breeding, nutrition and veterinary science. More about Agricola
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff Find It enabled Analytical Abstracts (Chemistry, 1980-)
Indexes 1,100 international journals and books, conference proceedings, standards, and technical reports on analysis, biochemistry, chemicals, energy, industry, pharmaceuticals, science and technology.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff Find It enabled Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts 1978-
Aquaculture, limnology, oceanography and marine environments.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff Find It enabled ASFA 3: Aquatic Pollution and Environmental Quality 1990-
Indexes " research and policy on the contamination of oceans, seas, lakes, rivers, and estuaries."
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff FindIt enabled Bacteriology Abstracts (Microbiology B) 1982-
Bacteriology from its pure biochemistry and genetics aspects to its clinical and agricultural applications.
Campus libraries or for UW Madison students, faculty, or staff with  installed client - see Help file Beilstein/Gmelin Crossfire 1800 - to date Organic and Inorganic/Organometallic Chemistry Databases. Searchable in campus libraries. See About link on how to get client software to use on non-library campus computers.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff Find It enabled Biological Abstracts 1969-
Anatomy, bacteriology, bioengineering, biotechnology, cell biology, genetics, immunology, microbiology, parasitology, pathology, physiology, radiation and systematic biology, toxicology, virology, and zoology.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff Find It enabled Biological Abstracts/RRM 1991- (Reports, Reviews, Meetings)
Citations to more than 2 million international life science meetings, symposia, and workshop papers; review articles; books; book chapters; and patents. Abstracts are available only for book citations.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff Find It enabled Biological and Agricultural Index Plus 1983- Animal sciences, biochemistry, biology, biotechnology, botany, cytology, ecology, entomology, environmental science, fishery sciences, forestry, genetics, marine biology, limnology, microbiology, physiology, plant pathology, veterinary medicine, wildlife management, and zoology.
Open to anyone BiologyBrowser Searchable database of web sites selected by Biosis, company that indexes Biological Abstracts.
Open to anyone Find It enabled Biomed Central
BioMed Central provides free access to original research papers published in its 60+ online journals covering all areas of biology and medicine. Peer-reviewed.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff Find It enabled Biotechnology and Bioengineering Abstracts 1982-
Covers research, applications, regulatory developments and new patents across all areas of biotechnology and bioengineering. It surveys biotechnological aspects of medicine, pharmacy, agriculture, the environment and marine biology.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff Find It enabled Biotechnology Abstracts (Derwent) 1982-
Genetic and biochemical engineering, fermentation, tissue culture, plant cell culture and breeding, biological control, downstream processing, and waste disposal.
Open to anyone Brenda: Comprehensive Enzyme Information System
Enzyme functional data classified according to the Enzyme Commission list of enzymes. Some 3500 "different" enzymes are covered.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff Find It enabled CAB (Agriculture & Veterinary) 1972-
Animal breeding and disease, biotechnology, entomology, forestry, microbiology, plant breeding and pathology, and veterinary science.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff Find It enabled Ecology Abstracts 1982-
It covers interactions of all organisms--microbes, plants, and animals--to their environment and to each other.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff Find It enabled Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management 1981-
Bacteriology, ecology, toxicology, microbiology, environmental engineering, environmental biotechnology, waste management, and water resources.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff Find It enabled General Science Full-Text 1984- Life sciences, genetics, environment and conservation, food and nutrition, and medicine and health.
Back to Top
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff Find It enabled Human Population & Natural Resource Management 1995-
Covers human population and demography topics, as well as societal issues involving natural resource management.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff Find It enabled Industrial and Applied Microbiology Abstracts (Microbiology A) 1982-
Practical microbiological applications in the agricultural, food and beverage, chemical, and pharmaceutical industries. Antibiotic and antimicrobial agents, contamination, ripening, and fermentation process for foods, wines and beer, soil microbiology, plant diseases, biodegradation, isolation and identification of microorganisms.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff Ingenta Connect
Full text access from over 800 e-journals from many disciplines, including Biology. UW-Madison students, staff and faculty have access to ingenta's current awareness e-mail alerting services (formerly known as UnCover) for tables of contents and saved subject searches. These results are delivered via e-mail to alert the user to newly published material.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff JSTOR: Scholarly Journal Archivet
Searchable fulltext of journals in ecology and botany from vol. 1 to within 3-5 years of current date.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff Find It enabled Medline (National Library of Medicine) 1966-
Biological sciences and clinical medical information covering all aspects of biomedicine. (Ovid)
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff Find It enabled Pollution Abstracts 1981- Covers research on all forms of pollution, including air, water, waste, radioactive material and toxic emissions as well as noise pollution.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff Proteome Bioknowledge Library (requires personal ID and password ) A collection of organism databases related to protein information. Access is limited to campus IP numbers. About.
Open to everyone Find It enabled

PubMed (National Library of Medicine's free version of Medline with UW-Madison holdings)

Biological sciences and clinical medical information covering all aspects of biomedicine. Covers more journals than Ovid's Medline. Hands-on tutorial from Mt. Sinai or NLM tutorial
Campus libraries or for UW Madison students, faculty, or staff with installed client - see Help file SciFinder Scholar (Chemical Abstracts) 1907-date Chemical Abstracts covers all areas of pure and applied chemistry including biochemistry, medicinal chemistry and chemical engineering. Also incorporates a database containing more than 20 million specific substances and a database of more than 5 million chemical reactions dating from 1974.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff Find It enabled Toxicology Abstracts 1981- "Covers issues from social poisons and substance abuse to natural toxins, from legislation and recommended standards to environmental issues."
Open to anyone TOXNET Chemical information (nomenclature, identification, structures), references to literature on biochemical, pharmacological, physiological, and toxicological effects of drugs and other chemicals, developmental and reproductive toxicology, and environmental teratology. More about TOXNET
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff Find It enabled Water Resources Abstracts 1967-
Indexes and abstracts international scientific and technical literature on water resource-related aspects of the physical, social, and life sciences.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff Find It enabled Web of Knowledge 1982- (formerly Web of Science)
Indexes 8000 peer reviewed journals. Includes Science Citation Index. Allows you to search by cited authors and to find articles sharing one or more cited references. Tutorial
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff Find It enabled Wildlife and Ecology Studies Worldwide 1935-
Animal behavior, conservation, disease, genetics, habitats, management techniques, parasites, pesticides, propagation, and toxicology.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff Find It enabled Zoological Record 1978-
World-wide coverage of zoological literature. Emphasis is on systematic/taxonomic information on various animal groups, including protozoa, nematoda, pisces, reptilia, aves, and mammalia.
Back to Top
Newspapers and Popular Magazines (some full-text)
  Title Coverage
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff LEXIS/NEXIS Academic Universe Web (Dates Vary) LEXIS/NEXIS ACADEMIC UNIVERSE is an online service composed of approximately 5,000 legal, news, reference, and business sources. Mostly full text.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff ProQuest Newspapers Articles from more than 500 national, international, and Wisconsin newspapers. Dates vary
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff Find It enabled ProQuest Research Library 1988- Journal literature covering the full range of biological sciences, though with a popular rather than scholarly emphasis. Many articles are full-text.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff Find It enabled Readers' GuideFull-Text and Retrospective 1890- News and current events in science from general interest periodicals.
Back to Top
e-Books
  Title Coverage
Open to anyone Ecology and Natural Resources Collection Writings about research in ecology and natural resources conducted by UW faculty and staff; and unique or valuable titles in these fields held by the UW Libraries. Searchable, browsable.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff Encyclopedia Britannica Online Searchable, browsable full text.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff Encyclopedia of Pest Management Coverage includes: principles of integrated pest management (IPM), pests and their management in crops and livestock, insect pests, weed pests, plant pathogens, pest control through breeding and bio- and gene-technology, etc.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff Encyclopedia of Plant and Crop Science Searchable, browsable full text.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff EnviroNetBase: Environmental Handbooks Online. Dates Vary. A searchable, browsable collection of more than 100 handbooks that cover properties and processes associated with the air, water, soils and biosphere.
Open to anyone History of Science and Technology Includes Pioneer Microbiologists of America , Root Nodule Bacteria and Leguminous Plants and other writings by UW and holdings from UW Libraries.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff Knovel Scientific and Engineering Online References Searchable version of Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook, Lange's Handbook of Chemistry, the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics and many more scientific reference books.
Open to anyone NCBI Bookshelf (National Center for Biotechnology Information) Searchable full-text biomedical books that are also linked to from PubMed abstracts. e.g. Molecular Biology of the Cell, Biochemistry, Genomes, etc.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff Xreferplus A collection of 100 reference tools that may be searched collectively or individually. It includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, statistical sources, biographical tools, thesauri, books of quotations, image collections, and subject-specific titles covering everything from art to technology
Back to Top

 

 

Biology Resources Guide | Databases & Ejournals | Resources by Subject | Jobs and Funding | People, Places and Events | Course Information | UW-Madison Libraries | MadCat | UW-Madison

Last modified June 6, 2005 .
University of Wisconsin-Madison Libraries in collaboration with Steenbock Library, the UW Biotechnology Center, and the Center for Biology Education. Please send comments regarding this site to Barbara Lazewski
.